If you’re a believer, you have heard the gospel many times in your life. It is the message of salvation; the good news for every soul on earth. It is the seed longing to take root in the soil of the peoples.

How wonderful this news is: Jesus Christ came to earth and lived the perfect life that we could not. He stretched out His arms on a wooden cross, taking the punishment for our sins that should have fallen on our own heads. He then rose from the dead, promising us that death is now powerless, and that we too will wise in the same way. God then announces that there is a “righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe.” (Romans 3:22) With this new righteousness, the believer can now say, “There is therefore no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” (Romans 8:1)

This is the gospel; this is the good news.

But where did the gospel go?

It saddens me to think of it, but is there a chance that us believers subconsciously feel that the gospel is only for the ears of unbelievers? When we go from darkness to light, let us not think, “Well, I’m a Christian now. Time to fix my eyes on keeping all of God’s rules.” Don’t get me wrong: discipleship is essential to the Christian life. But have we traded the gospel for it?

I am ashamed to admit how often I switch to a mode of trying to please God on my own strength. I would never admit it at the time, of course, but I do it. I devise elaborate plans to conquer sin without getting down on my knees to ask God for His Spirit to help me. And trying to “be good” on our own strength is not only void of the gospel, but directly opposed to it.

James 2:10 says: “For whoever keeps the whole law but fails in one point had become accountable for all of it.” Brothers and sisters, we simply cannot be good enough to earn God’s favour! Are you having a “good” day? Have you been acting “good?” Yet you have sinned, and so God cannot favour and bless you based on your own merit.

This is why we need to be reminded of the gospel every day of our lives! We must humble ourselves, and we must confess our sins – just as we did when we called on Jesus’ name for the first time. Then, as we did back then, we will see God’s grace shining bright.

May this be a challenge to those who have been living on their own strength, and a word of comfort to those who, like me, are prone to forget about the grace of God. As it is said: Preach the gospel to yourself every day.

The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you all.

