I had the opportunity this morning to go to a men’s breakfast. There were men (much older than I!) from three different churches, and three different denominations. It was a time of wonderful fellowship, and some really, really good food.

Besides singling hymns and eating, we also had the opportunity to listen to a great speaker. We were in for an incredible testimony from a man of God who had grown up in Africa at a missions plant. One of the stories he told us blew me away, and I knew I should share it here.

He told of a time when he was six years old. A drought had come upon that region of Africa, and there hadn’t been any rain for a very long time.

One day he walked up to his mother in the field. and with the faith that can often only be found in a child, said, “Mommy, I prayed for rain, and it’s going to come today.” The problem, of course, was that there wasn’t a single cloud in the sky.

Sure enough, later that day, the clouds rolled in, the heavens burst forth with rain, and the earth was replenished.

It’s a story you could guess from the beginning, yet still takes your breath away and leaves you in awe of God’s power. That this man before me prayed during a drought and received rain… it excites me, but it made me sad at first. Why don’t things like this happen in my life?

It’s because I don’t expect them to.

You should not think that these miracles cannot happen today; nor should you think that a spiritual downpour is any less miraculous.

The application is not too deep, but it is practical. What droughts have you come to believe will never end? I know I have mine. Lustful attitudes and anger plague me daily, and win more often than they should. Yet, although I cannot see any clouds, I know that God is the ultimate giver of rain. He is the only one who can end droughts.

It is precisely when we feel that we have failed in an area too many times that we need to renew our hope. So join me in praying for the droughts plaguing us to end.  There is much hope, and our God is faithful.

The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you all.

