Although we all hate to admit it, the number of denominations and dividing beliefs in Christianity today is overwhelming. Even worse, the arguments between these sections continue non-stop.

What is the correct way to respond to this truth?

Probably no one struggles with this more than me, who ends up spending a lot of my time doing in-depth studies and listening to sermons online. Yet as soon as I leave my main websites and books, I’m bound to find heated arguments among brothers and sisters in Christ.

Perhaps other people know what to do in these situations, but I don’t. The verse “Remind them of these things, and charge them before God not to quarrel about words, which does no good, but only ruins the hearers” (2 Tim 2:14) was well-said. I’ll get frustrated and quit for the day.

How should we respond?

Catholics against Protestants; Calvinists against Armenians; liberals against conservatives; premillennials against amillennials… we could go on. It can tear us down, and our personal theology doesn’t always seem to help.

[I read somewhere that it is a sin to have incorrect theology. This sounds great if you are prideful in your knowledge, but it tears you down even further if these arguments are confusing you.]

Ultimately, we must not say, Well, I know I’m right! That thinking is not of the Spirit. I personally know without doubt that I don’t have everything straight; I have much to learn.

“. . . Jesus Christ and Him crucified.”

The only true solution is to fall back on the foundation of our faith – Jesus Christ. He is the Author of our faith, and the characters don’t need to worry about the style of writing.

1 Corinthians 2:2 says, “For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified.” Paul was on to something here. The Corinthians were probably divided in their beliefs, and each group couldn’t wait for Paul to come and tell everyone else they were wrong.

But Paul wouldn’t buy into that, and nor would Christ if He came bodily to this earth today.

Once we realize that Christ wants our trust and love more than our head knowledge, it will become easier for us to overcome these difficult times.

*     *     *

Let me say that I am not against having a theological persuasion. I love filling my ears with pastors like John Piper and others – even though many disagree with them – because you can see on their face their love for God, and their zeal for His name. But when we’re honest, we have to admit that every side seems to have at least one or two good arguments. And this is when we must fall back on Christ and Him crucified.

That being said, how does this play out? For me, I have to get my mind off of the debate at hand. The next part, the last, is both a fight and an unspeakable joy: I have to work to identify myself with Christ and Him only. This is why we should never say “I am a Calvinist,” or “I am an Armenian.” Really? Was Calvin crucified for you? Were you baptized in Arminius’ name? Hopefully, that brings 1 Corinthians 1:11,12 to mind.

Christ was crucified for our sins, and we were all baptized in His name. If all Christians remembered that, the amount of barriers broken down would be astounding.

Pray to God that you will find peace in Jesus Christ as your Savior. Remember how lost you were when He saved you – you are still just as dependent on Him. He is all you need to be saved. In that moment, strip yourselves of all theological persuasions and fill your mind with Christ alone – this ground, not even Satan can tread upon. This ground is a sanctuary.

Today, make sure you are identified with Christ, and no one else. Again, I am not saying “Don’t study theology; don’t form beliefs about God; Don’t join a denomination.” All I am saying is this: Remember who your true foundation is.

The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you all.

