How many Christians realize that being sorrowful is sin? The Bible says that we have to always rejoice. How many Christians have obeyed this commandment? We have to realize that being sorrowful is sin. Everyone who does not rejoice has sinned.

-Watchman Nee

I came across this as I started reading Nee’s book, The Overcoming Life. I was troubled at first, then confused. Having thought on it, I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t agree with this statement.

Isaiah 53:3 says Jesus was a “man of sorrows.” When He saw the Jews grieving over the loss of Lazarus, He Himself wept. And Jesus did not sin.
Paul, concerning the Jews, states: “I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart.”

On a personal level as well, I have to disagree. If a person did not feel sorrow after sin, that would mean they have no godly grief. And if we have no godly grief, how may we come to repentance?

Watchman Nee was on the topic of overcoming. And I do believe that sorrow can be overcome. However, I don’t think overcoming sorrow means never feeling it. Rather, does not overcoming sorrow mean that we endure it, clinging to Christ and His promises? When we can feel sorrow, anguish and grief on all fronts, yet say, “I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living!” (Psalm 27:13), we have truly overcome.

What do you think? I’m willing to be corrected on these points. I’ve heard many Christian authours quote this man, and I believe him to have been a man of God. Please comment and share your thoughts!

The grace of our Lord Jesus be with you all.

